Alyson, Codi, and Irene

Alyson, Codi, and Irene



The Volunteer Manitoba Awards are just a few weeks away!  They are going to look a little different this year but make sure to tune into Facebook Live on November 18th to join in on celebrating volunteerism in Manitoba.


Today we are celebrating one volunteer, Alyson Shane!


Alyson has been nominated for the 2020 Spark Outstanding Pro Bono Consultant Award for her work as a social media expert. 


Alyson has been a Spark volunteer since 2018, and is the President of Starling Social – a digital marketing company. Alyson was involved with three separate Spark Matches in 2019, with her award nomination coming from a match with New Journey Housing.


New Journey Housing provides resources to train, assist, and support newcomers to Canada, and those who support them, through the process of attaining and retaining decent affordable housing in Manitoba.


New Journey Housing’s ED Codi Guenther asked for a Spark Match to help the organization build up their social media, connect with current and potential clients prior to coming to Canada, as well as network with other non-profits in the community. Like most non-profits, budgets can be limited. 


“We were able to develop social media strategies – involving both Facebook and Instagram. As well as connecting a blog to our website, and increase our regular newsletter subscribers,” says Codi. “Since working with Ms. Shane our website usage has increased and our workshop participation has also grown.”


Codi says that social media is also a great way to keep connected and engaged with other agencies, and the work that they do. New Journey is able to stay in solidarity, and support the work of other community organizations, their clients and programming.


Congratulations on your nomination, Alyson! We thank you for volunteering your skills through Spark to help community organizations build strong, healthy communities.  


Interested in reading more about our nominees? Check out our profiles on Lasha Glennie, Cecilly HildebrandKelly ThibodeauCynthia Drebot, and Dennis Dyck.


-Article written by Colleen Simard